Calling All Interns & Recent Graduates Using Social Media!

TerryImage

Talk to me. Please. (Note: Research not officially endorsed by Terry Tibbs).

Hi there!

Are you a graduate who started working within the previous two years? Or perhaps a student currently on a internship placement?

Do you use social media?

If yes, I would really like to speak to you for my current PhD study!

Please take some time to read through the following information. If at any point you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me HERE.

What is the study about?

The study explores how young adults at the beginning of their career manage what their social media presence may say about them professionally as they transition from full-time study to the workplace.

What are you asking me to do?

I would love the opportunity to speak with you in an anonymous and confidential interview session, lasting around 60 to 90 minutes. I’m happy to arrange this for a time, date and location of your convenience – and am willing to travel if required.

The interview session will be divided into two sections. First, I’d like to explore the role that social media has played during your transition from student to employee; with a particular focus on any incidents where you required to think about your professional image. Second, I’d very much like to have a go in using two sites that try to help people to manage their online reputations and ask a few questions relating to this experience.

How will my data be used?

To help ensure that my data is accurate, with your permission I will record the audio of the session. Any quotes used in my thesis or resulting publications will be anonymised and great care taken to ensure that they cannot be attributed to you as an employee of your current organisation.

Your participation in this study is completely voluntary. You may choose not to answer any of the pre-planned questions asked of you or to use the websites previously outlined. You may withdraw your participation at any time during or after the interview session up until any potential publication of the findings.

Will I be compensated for my time?

As a PhD student with very limited funds, I am really relying on your good will HOWEVER: your time and help is extremely appreciated and I am more than happy to acknowledge this via the medium of any refreshments that you would like during our interview!

If you have questions at all, please do not hesitate to contact me or comment in the field below this post.

Thank you for reading this information sheet and I hope to hear from you soon!

Chris

Leave a Reply

